The power of a letter

I’ve always loved hand written letters. The excitement of writing a letter, posting it off to a destination and then receiving a letter back in my mailbox has always intrigued me.

It has always been easier for me to express my feelings on paper rather than verbally. My  personality is unassuming and sometimes I hold back on expression resulting in the other person not receiving the message.  However I have no trouble expressing myself in written form.

Throughout my life I have written letters to people, some were delivered and some never sent, but all of them helped me to express my feelings.

I’ve saved all the personal letters that I have received in a big box that I sometimes take out and read, transporting me back to a time when things were different. Seeing words in my mum’s handwriting somehow comforts me and makes me feel that she is still with me.

This week I had lunch with my best friend and was compelled to write her a letter after I saw her. With her permission I am sharing that letter with you.

To my oldest and dearest friend,

I love you.

Thank you for being my friend throughout all our ups and downs over the past 41 years. I am positive that our friendship will continue until the day we take our last breath.

People have come and gone throughout our lives but our friendship has withstood every situation and never fades. There is nothing that could destroy our bond.

Yesterday when I saw you for our Christmas visit I sensed that you are in pain. I could see it in your eyes, hear it in your words and feel it in my heart.

You are dealing with many stressful situations and I fear they are taking their toll on your peace of mind. I understand that these situations are impacting on your life and are unfair and frustrating.

But you have to step back from them before they eat into your soul.

If you need me to do anything to ease your pain then I expect you to call out to me and ask for help. I am your friend and will stand by you through any situation.

Never lose sight of the kind and loving person you are.

All you need is love.

Just call my name and I’ll be there

My friend’s response

Thank you.  You have such a way with words and can say the things I think, but cannot put into words.  I know you would be there for me no matter what, and I for you, and that is the most comforting thought I have.

Please share your thoughts about this post....

