It’s time to tell the truth

Sometimes, no matter how hard you try, things don’t always go the way you want them to.

Some days I fail to live up to my creed
Free your heart from hatred – Forgive.
Free your mind from worries – Most never happen.
Live simply and appreciate what you have.
Give more.
Expect less from people but more from yourself.

Every day I read positive affirmations that I find on ‘healthy mind’ Facebook pages.

The messages are simple and all resonate the same theme – if you look at the world in a positive light you will be immune to its poisons – if you are loving, forgiving and humble you will be happy – if you see only the good in people you will be a better person – if you lose all negativity you will be free.

I want to believe that people who focus only on the positives have more meaningful lives, but I am struggling with putting the words into practise for myself.

  • When I watch the news and hear of the despicable things people do to others, I can’t forgive. I can’t feel love toward people who deliberately light bushfires, inflict damage, assault or sexually violate others.
  • When I see people behaving aggressively and threatening others on the roads, I don’t feel compassion toward them.
  • When I hear loud arrogant people dominating a public space and disrespecting the rights of others, I don’t hold positive thoughts about them.

I’ve read blogs by people who have dragged themselves from the depths of despair and transformed themselves into well-rounded people who appreciate everything about their life, just by changing their attitudes.

I believe that this has happened but I can’t imagine that it can happen to me.

I still hold on to stress and worries that haunt me and invade my mind no matter how hard I try to push them away.

I still feel dislike for some people.

I believe I have the right to be treated respectfully by others.

I still hold regrets.

I’m NOT quitting. I am just being honest with myself, and admitting that my path to positive entitlement still has a long way to go.

One thought on “It’s time to tell the truth

Please share your thoughts about this post....

