It’s a small world after all

Sitting in a small space with hundreds of people while trapped inside tonnes of metal is not my idea of fun but I endure it because I love to travel to see other lands.

It is not only the feeling of being confined in the aircraft that is confronting but also the arduous administrative and security processes we have to go through before finally finding our assigned seat.

That being said, the flying component forms a small portion of the overall travel experience and is only a miniscule inconvenience in the span of a lifetime.

The knowledge that I can be standing in Nanjing Road, Shanghai one day and be back in my house in Australia within 15 hours blows me away. The world is so small.

Gone are the days when the closest people got to other countries was hearing stories of faraway places on the radio or reading about them in novels.

children of the worldAs a child of the 60’s I had a picture book called “Children of the World” that had cute illustrations of  a boy and a girl from 76 countries dressed in their national costume. Each page had a short paragraph written in the voice of a child about the characteristics of where they lived.

Every night before sleeping I would lovingly look through the pages and wonder what life would be like in other countries. My favourite page was Japan and I know this page sparked a lifelong fascination for this country.

When I finally visited Japan four years ago as a middle aged woman I remember feeling like the 8 year old version of myself being amazed by standing in ancient temples, walking next to women dressed in Kimonos, and spotting Mt Fuji in the skyline for the first time. I was in awe that the images I had stored in my imagination for so many years had come to life.

To me this feeling of amazement is the number one beauty of travel.

7 thoughts on “It’s a small world after all

  1. Isn’t it great what books do for us? I always wanted to travel but I was born to parents who didn’t have money for faraway trips, and then later married a man who thought a trip to Milwaukee was a big deal. (I live about 30 miles from the city.) I didn’t realize my travel dreams until I was in my 40s. I met a couple of travel agents on a cruise one time and we hit it off so well, I traveled with them as a guest for the next couple of years. It was a marvelous time in my life! I’ve seen the whole Caribbean, Mexico and even Bermuda. When I remarried, I got lucky–Ken and I have seen a lot of the US and even the Panama Canal. My dream of travel came true–it just took a while. Love your blog.

    Like

  2. Travel is also within me and I share your passion. I worked on a cruise ship for three years travelling the world and the most amazing feeling was waking up in a new place each day! Awesome. Japan was one of those places…..absolute beauty.

    Like

  3. Sometimes I think that we spend so much time thinking about what’s wrong with us and with our lives, that it gets in the way of living and experiencing what is all around us. We think about how we feel, how we should feel. We try to describe happiness in a way that we imagine it should be, could be, or can be, if we can just FIND a way to bring that kind of joy into our daily lives. There are signs and sayings, literally everywhere, telling us what to feel, how we should feel and why we aren’t feeling the way we know everyone else must be feeling. Something is wrong. We are constantly being distracted by a barrage of books and advertising that tells us that OTHER people have the ANSWER for OUR lives. Those people can help everyone find what they are looking for…IF… we just buy their book, or tape, or video or attend their class. If you do buy their product or attend their class and your life does not change then it’s your fault, of course. You didn’t do something correctly, or you didn’t try hard enough, but it’s not their fault and there are no refunds. You could read their second book, however, or take another class and maybe that would help. It’s the oldest scam in the world. If you dye your hair a certain color everyone will think you are Marilyn Monroe. I don’t think so. Maybe we should all just stop looking for something we already have…life the way it is. Life can be challenging. It can be hard. Life has ups and downs, but that’s what life is. I don’t think people should accept a miserable life. I believe that people should always work for change and a better way of doing things. I just think that when someone wants to change it should be their own idea and not something sold to them by someone who is looking to make money on their misery. I don’t look for happiness (it does find me, however). My goal in life is contentment. With contentment comes the ability to deal with what is and go with the flow. May you find peace and a life with few bumps in the road. This comment was for a different page but I couldn’t find the comment button, so I’m sorry about that.

    Like

    1. Hi Melissa, thank you for sharing that quote. When I see you in a photo taken in Japan your face looks more radiant and alive than it does when I see a photo of you taken in Australia. I wonder why that is?

      Like

Please share your thoughts about this post....

