Quiet Time

During the past few months I have learned how to still my mind and meditate. Sometimes I focus on a theme but other times I enjoy the peace of having no thoughts at all.

When I dare to look back in my life I realise  how much I’ve evolved just by growing older and encountering the highs and lows along the journey of my life so far.

Today is a milestone day for me; June 25 is the day my first child was born twenty-eight years ago.

When I clear my mind of everyday clutter and slow my breathing I can see myself as a 24-year-old cradling my newborn baby. In my mind I hold hands with the frightened young woman and say…

Hey sweet lonely girl
Hold your head high
Know that you are beautiful
And be inspired by the miracle of motherhood.
Smile more
Share more
Care less about what others think
And never lose sight of your inner light.
Don’t be afraid
Love yourself
Dare to dream
And the rest will take care of itself.

As I meditate I hug my younger self until I feel her heart beating against my older heart and I whisper in her ear “you have  beautiful times ahead.”

16 thoughts on “Quiet Time

  1. moved me to tears 🙂 thank you x we give ourselves such a hard time along our ways its lovely to be reminded to go easy, smile more, enjoy more, be tender with ourselves its all going to be ok 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. It took me many years to realise how hard I had been on myself for most of my life. The experience through meditation of imagining my older self comforting my younger self was empowering, emotional and beautiful. Love to you from Jenna 🙂

      Like

  2. This is such a well done and touching story. Congrats on what has obviously been a very rewarding motherhood experience! Keep the meditation going too…

    Take care,
    Jeff

    Like

      1. You are completely right, Jenna! Words from the heart are very important as they are usually very sincere. Words with no sincerity are wasted breath…

        You take care and enjoy your weekend,
        Jeff 😉

        Like

    1. Thank you Pat. It was a lovely to go back in my mind and reassure my under-confident younger self that everything would be okay.
      We often dwell on the negatives of getting older but in this instance I was celebrating the wisdom that growing older brings. Love Jenna 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Laurie, it was a lovely experience to go back in my mind and reassure my under-confident younger self that everything would be okay.
      We often dwell on the negatives of getting older but in this instance I was celebrating the wisdom that growing older brings. Love Jenna 🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts about this post....

