A Selection of True Awakening Experiences Part II

I’m writing this post to participate in Barbara Franken’s challenge to talk about where I find myself now on my journey of self-realisation and freedom.

Sometimes I wonder if there was a defining moment when I consciously made a decision to change how I viewed my existence and where I fit in the world. I think it was around my 50th birthday when I started thinking about being more honest with myself.  Almost six years have gone by since then and I’ve been constantly challenged to face truths, be kinder to myself, let go of negativity,  move on from the past and learn to forgive. This has not been an easy progression and while I celebrate how far I’ve come I know I still have far to go.

There were times when I struggled to pick myself up after slipping back into old habits and sometimes it seemed too difficult. But every backward step was worth the uncertainty when I realised I’d taken another step forward towards being true to myself.

Snakes-and-Ladders-Game-510My journey feels like a game of snakes and ladders. As I create positive change I merrily skip along the board until wham I land on a snake and slip back a few rows into old habits. I’m happy that the snakes seem shorter now and less daunting. I now honestly feel comfortable in my own skin.

I’ve learned many things about myself during the past six years but the most valuable lesson I have learned is to be less fearful.

I strive to live my live following these five simple rules.f4ef85ae4212b42479eb5b1feb2b0ee0

Please visit Tanja’s site who will be sharing her story as part of Barbara’s challenge tomorrow– https://kundaliniawakeningprocess.wordpress.com

 

6 thoughts on “A Selection of True Awakening Experiences Part II

  1. Hi Jenna,

    Thank you for your post. It love the five simple rules. I have just started my journey on finding my own Ikigai and I am came across your post. I most say I level inspired.

    Thank you Jenna,

    Ivy x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jenna,
    I can definitely relate to snakes and ladders metaphor. I call it chutes and ladders, after the childhhood board game. Thank you for sharing part of your journey here with us.

    peace, litebeing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life is a journey full of twists and turns that is for sure. Sometimes I think I’ve made no progress at all and my personal goals will never be realized, but if I look carefully, I’ll see that I am making progress in reality. Controlling my ego is my biggest challenge!
    When we were kids we had the game ‘Chutes and Ladders,’ which must have come from ‘Snakes and Ladders,’ which I’ve never seen before. I guess they thought snakes were too scary for kids and replaced them with kiddie slides!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your expression, full of humor, simplicity and loving truth about YOU. Thankyou so much for sharing and making me giggle… as I imaged lots of us stepping on the snake and slipping… Oh what journeys we’ve had… and we are still here to tell our tales… Love to you, barbara X

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts about this post....